SPAMMER – gametutorials.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=13425 | IP: 89.149.205.199

By Clarencia Cynrae on May 14th, 2008



OrgName:    RIPE Network Coordination Centre
OrgID:      RIPE
Address:    P.O. Box 10096
City:       Amsterdam
StateProv:
PostalCode: 1001EB
Country:    NL


ReferralServer: whois://whois.ripe.net:43

NetRange:   89.0.0.0 - 89.255.255.255
CIDR:       89.0.0.0/8
NetName:    89-RIPE
NetHandle:  NET-89-0-0-0-1
Parent:
NetType:    Allocated to RIPE NCC
NameServer: NS-PRI.RIPE.NET
NameServer: SEC1.APNIC.NET
NameServer: SEC3.APNIC.NET
NameServer: SUNIC.SUNET.SE
NameServer: TINNIE.ARIN.NET
NameServer: NS.LACNIC.NET
Comment:    These addresses have been further assigned to users in
Comment:    the RIPE NCC region. Contact information can be found in
Comment:    the RIPE database at http://www.ripe.net/whois
RegDate:    2005-06-30
Updated:    2005-07-22

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2008-05-12 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
 RESPONSE;
Dear User,

Recently someone posted spam on our forums and then used the link to
that post to spam thousands of other sites trying to sell ringtones.
This is not spam from GameTutorials, but from someone who is in some
small country and is probably 15 years old and has nothing better to
do. Their IP address has been posted countless times to black lists all
over the internet, but unfortunately their ISP is ignoring people when
trying to shut them down. We have completely removed our forums and no
longer will have forums because of the constant abuse such as this. Our
site has been blacklisted because of this abuse and misrepresentation
and we would appreciate it if you would find the IP address of the
person who posted on your site if you were spammed, and report them.

The only way to protect ourselves from attacks/spam like this is to add
a security check that blocks automated spam from scripts. For instance,
before someone can post on your site, make a random number or image
popup and make the user type in what they see. This is the only thing
we can do unfortunately. We apologize for the annoying spam that
someone thought would be a good idea. If you find them please report
them. We are receiving hundreds of emails about this spam so please
don't email us. We have done the best we can to get rid of and report
this spammer. We are a legitimate company for over 10 years and do not
spam others. We sell programming tutorials, not ringtones. If someone
posted on microsoft's forums and then used that link to spam thousands
of sites, of course you can't blame microsoft for having a forum. Once
again, thanks for helping to stop this spammer.

Warm Regards,

The GameTutorials Staff
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • del.icio.us
  • Propeller
  • Facebook
  • Fark

Please click here for more recent posts.



Leave a Reply